Author: Subject: 092.431 Walther to Kilian [CHI, Serbin Collection] 9 Feb 1867
mersiowsky
Super Administrator

[*] posted on 5-30-2015 at 09:47 PM
092.431 Walther to Kilian [CHI, Serbin Collection] 9 Feb 1867

St. Louis, 9th February 1867

My Dear Sir Pastor!

Beloved Brother in the Lord!

I have intended for some time to answer your nice letter from March 9th, but I kept putting it off until now (with) the impossibility alone, (being) determined to deal with something of your important request. I am namely truly in an unworthy way presently (? “so gleich” as like) General President, but as such I am not done with searching the new revised Constitution (with) preachers and congregations, as I am a teacher of this Seminary, President of the General (Synod), I can take on nothing (more) and likewise remain a teacher. The search of the pastors and congregations are now finally the responsibility of the District President and they also cannot judge these portions of the functions of their office alone, the appointed result is therefore especially the same for the help in search for the office. The concern is the help of the President of the Western District (who is) Pastor Herman Fick of Collinsville, Ill. The same intended to come to visit also the Texas brothers. So I have waited on this from him from one week to another. Pastor Fick who appears diligent in St. Louis, (is to) visit you to search and for him to decide. The situation of the delayed travel between here and the distant Mississippi, though only 12 miles distant to Collinsville, is yet so seldom possible in the last months, and the difficulty of the trip so great, that Fick has stayed out until now. I can no longer let it stand, to at least reply to you as I am able. (?)