The Wendish Research Exchange

Serbske Nowiny: 1863

mersiowsky - 8-3-2016 at 03:42 PM

July 18, p. 227: List s połodnischeje Ameriki. Translated from Upper Sorbian by Gerald Stone.

A letter
from South America.

Buenos Ayres. 23 March 1863. Dear Editor, You probably do not know the author of these lines, but he desires, if you agree, to make your acquaintance by correspondence. Therefore I send you these lines and hope they find you in good health.

I previously read several numbers of Serbske Nowiny in my native land and I would be glad if I could read Serbske Nowiny, if possible, here in Buenos Ayres. I would thus be able to learn from it something of what has been happening in my native land. I am Wendish and my father is the small-holder Handrij Mikanja in Maltitz. I worked as a shepherd on various estates around Bautzen, the last four years for Mr Kind in Kleinbautzen, from where I came to Mr Stegmann as a master shepherd to the so called estanzia Poronguitos in Buenos Ayres and I left my homeland on 26 April 1859.

Dear Sir, if you would be so kind as to send me Serbske Nowiny every quarter or every six months, I should be very grateful. The bearer of these lines, Mr Handrij Redo of Pommritz, will pay for everything. Any letters written to me can be sent to my master’s correspondent, Mr H. Droop in Hamburg. They must be franked and in double envelopes, the interior one with my address and the exterior to Mr Droop.